Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Florida Governor Rick Scott Declares State of Emergency For Tropical Storm Hermine

TALLAHASSEE, Florida -- Florida Governor Rick Scott declared a State of Emergency today as Tropical Storm Hermine approaches Florida bringing possible tornadoes, waterspouts, flooding, high winds, and heavy rain to the Sunshine State.

“Last night, hurricane and tropical storm watches were issued along Florida’s Gulf Coast from Pasco County to Gulf County," said Governor Scott. "We also learned that the National Hurricane Center expects Tropical Depression Nine to become a Tropical Storm sometime today." 

"By declaring a state of emergency in advance of this storm, we are ensuring that state, regional and local agencies can work together to meet the needs of our communities. We will continue to do all we can to keep our families and visitors safe and informed as this storm approaches our state.”

Scott declared a State of Emergency for the following 42 Florida counties: Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Citrus, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsen, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hernando, Hillsborourgh, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Leon, Levy, Libery, Madison, Marion, Nassau, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia, and Wakulla.

The State of Emergency activates Florida's Emergency Management Plans, authorizes cooperation with the Federal Government, activates the Florida National Guard, and authorizes the waiver of tolls on Florida roads as may be needed.  

The Executive Order also provides for the suspension of Florida administrative actions, such as those in the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles, in the event those offices are closed to inclement weather.
Pharmacists are also authorized to issue an additional 30 day refill of prescription maintenance medications.